Saturdays Mean Something, Again

During the summer when school is out and if you’re not working outside the home the days pretty much melt one into another,  especially here in the Deep South.  I get to sleep a little later in the summer and go to bed a little  way later than usual.  But school has been in session since August 8th which means early mornings and daily drives to and from high school.  So.  On Saturdays  I can sleep late.  But don’t count on it.  Between the 9th grader who likes to get up before the birds (she’s not mine, must be her daddy’s…) and cook breakfast. And because her daddy who thinks I’m wasting the day by being in bed, I am usually up no later than 7:30.  Oh, and let us not forget the cats who jump upon the bed and start making biscuits on your stomach while purring loud enough to register on the Richter Scale. Lately my daughter’s specialty is baking English Scones from scratch and they taste delicious, wonderful, and scrumptious.  She makes enough for me to nibble on what’s left all day long.  And for an extra special treat, sometimes she puts out the blackberry jam she made from blackberries she picked while on walks up and down the street in July.  Again, early morning walks.  I am usually still hanging onto my first cup of coffee and talking incoherently.  Unless I have something to knit, then I am alert, making sense when I talk and looking forward to that second and third cup of coffee,  And woe be to the person who wants me to stop and do something for him out in his bike shop. 😦  So maybe after Saturday morning, I will have something to show you in the way of that raglan sleeved sweater I am almost finished with.  Oh, so close.  But it has wool in it, blended with cotton and I am not that anxious to wear it when it is 95 degrees outside and when the car sits for two minutes, the thermometer registers 115 degrees F.!  It’s Labor Day Week-end; the trees are beginning to turn colors.  Let’s cool it off, please.  But, back when I was in high school, I got my second-worst sunburn lying out by the pool over Labor Day week-end.  The absolute worst sunburn I got came from my sorority’s week-end house-parties in March in Destin, Florida.  Not in May or June, but March!  Suffice it to say, I don’t tan very well.  But burn, that I do very well.  Besides knit.  And sleep.  And snuggle with my cats.

The Art Show was held this week-end in the Mentone Park among the trees.  That was a very good thing; as it was hot in the afternoon.  I took a few pictures of the vendors.

The Mentone Art Show among the trees.

One of the vendors was Beth Bailey aka The Original Scarf Lady, who takes yarns and strips of fabric and makes necklaces and hair clips.  She was generous and gave the Teen-ager one to wear in her hair.

The scarf and hair-clip designer with the Teen-ager. Sorry you cannot see the hair-clip very well.

I’m sorry you can’t really see it on her.  I took a picture to show you how nice it looks.

Hand made hair-clip using vintage fabric and yarns.

She may be reached at alabeth@aol.com.   Here is another picture of Beth wearing one of her scarves.

Beth Bradley wearing one of her scarves made from vintage fabrics and yarns.

I bought a pair of handmade earrings from Pam Nicholson of Napoleon’s Baubles.  She may be reached at spaigenicholson@gmail.com.  For the last couple of years I have this thing about wanting to wear handmade earrings.  I love them, they are beautiful.  I was going back to another vendor to get a pair of earrings made from melted glass which were gorgeous.  However.

I never made it back to the art show as it was supposed to last two more days but Tropical Storm Lee interfered with a lot of people’s plans.  On  Sunday, the power was out from 2:30 p.m. (with the last sheet of macadamia and white chocolate chip cookies left in the oven) until 12:15 a.m.  We were very fortunate compared to other people in town.  Down the street there are several trees down, two of which fell on the same house.  When high winds are combined with saturated ground, you get trees falling over.   And my thoughts and prayers are for those who are really suffering from the effects of floods and power outages and tornadoes.

One more thing about Saturdays in the fall:  FOOTBALL!!!  Southeastern Conference Football!!!  In my house the Auburn and Alabama games are evenly supported until THE GAME.  Then we watch it from opposite sides of the room.  But preferably in separate rooms.  Now, having said all this with such emphasis I can not tell you who Auburn is playing this week-end.  After all, it is just a game.

My current WIP is the Garterlac Dishcloth.  I’ve frogged it twice and in frustration went back to the Ravelry site and a tutorial was offered.  Due to the power outage I did not get to work on it any yesterday.

Twice frogged Garterlac washcloth

I still have not seamed the raglan sleeved sweater.  After all, there was no power and it is hard to seam dark blue in the semi-darkness.

13 thoughts on “Saturdays Mean Something, Again

  1. Glad to know that the storm did not hit you too hard. I love to go to art shows where people sell their hand made crafts. It’s so much fun to see what everyone creates. Wow, I will have those scones on my mind for the rest of the day. They sure sound very delicious!! Judy

  2. Glad you made it through the storm okay. We had to drive home to the city from our day in Niagara in a wicked storm. No fun. But it gave me knitting time. 7:30 on a Saturday?! That should be outlawed. There had better be a pot of coffee shoved in my face and maybe a fire to make me think about getting up that early on non-teaching days 🙂 I like mornings, but I am not fit for human companionship at that time. Lucky my husband is the same way so he never gets mad when all I can do is grunt and glare until the coffee kicks in.

  3. yes, glad you’re ok after the storm. the art show looks like fun, i would spend a good chunk of time there looking at everything! one of my favourite pair of earrings is handmade, by a friend. there really is something nice about having something handmade.

  4. Love art fairs–earlier in the summer I went to the Berea Arts Festival–would love it if we had something closer. Hoping fall is close for you–we, too, had those awful 90-100 degree temps way too long–finally cooled down a bit so I can “think” about sweater weather–it’s definitely not here yet!
    I’ve been looking for the perfect scone recipe for some time. Would your daughter share her recipe?????????

    • Can you believe this cooler weather!! This time last week it was still 85 degrees at 8:00 in the evening. Right now it’s only 62 degrees. I’ll post A’s recipe for scones either over the week-end or early next week. And thanks for stopping by.

  5. Go Ca, Go Stanford! We’re Pac 12 people. Our friends son-in-law is the offensive coach of the Bears of Cal. Cal and Stanford both won today.

    • Yea! I don’t know if you get any SEC on television but was able to watch both Auburn and Alabama. Auburn should be known as the “cardiac kids”! They won by a successful goal-line stand – clock ran out when they stopped Mississippi State at the ONE INCH LINE! WDE!! And poor Penn State didn’t have a chance.

Leave a Reply

