Cable On the Sides Mitten Pattern Review

This is the first time I have test-knitted a pattern and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.  The pattern was well written and it was easy to follow the instructions.  I used Lion Brand Wool Ease and bamboo double points.  The next time I make these using this yarn, I will switch to metal dps.  A remarkable thing about these mittens is that they can be worn or either hand!  At first I thought the instructions for the second mitten had been left out then a friend tried the first mitten on both hands and Voila!  This may be a common practice but this is the first pair of mittens I have knitted and did not know any better.  It looks complicated but it is a simple pattern and easy and quick to knit.  I received compliments when I showed them to friends.  As I have an extra skein of the Wood Ease yarn I plan to make a matching cap using her cable pattern – giving the designer due credit, of course.  Again, it is a great pattern and I will definitely use it again when a quick gift is needed for a friend.

Cable On The Side Mittens

 

Cozy Mittens for the winter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to knit a pair for yourself or a friend, the Cable On the Side Mittens pattern is available at Knit Picks.

6 thoughts on “Cable On the Sides Mitten Pattern Review

  1. Wow! Love those mittens! I once tried to make mittens from a beginner pattern. I have some holes near the base of the thumb and the right hand is shorter and fatter than the left. I smile every time I wear them and proud to say I made them myself!!!Even with all the defects! Someday I hope to master knitting…Keep up your lovely work.
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

