I Didn’t Shop ‘til I Dropped

The first week-end in August was the annual World’s Longest Yard Sale.  It starts in Gadsden, Alabama, on Lookout Mountain and travels northward along the spine of the mountain and continues into Tennessee, and Kentucky, Ohio, and finally into Michigan.  I’m not sure how many miles that is, but as you can imagine, it’s a lot.  This is a 4-day event which takes place the first Thursday through Sunday in August but some vendors were set up as early as Monday!  This year was my first to experience it in my new home town, and now I understand the long time residents’ feelings. By Monday morning, the town looked trashed; it did not belong to us those few days.  Saturday was the worst day for traffic, people walking in front of cars, and some cars were driving just too fast with so many people around.

The World's Longest Yard Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The weather was not conducive to good sales as there was a downpour of rain every afternoon. The ground was soggy, stuff was wet and when the sun came out the humidity made it like walking around in a sauna!  However, that’s typical August weather in Alabama.

The teen-ager and I walked around Saturday afternoon but did not see anything we could not live without.  A lot of it was either junk or over-priced or we liked it but did not have room for it.

A yard sale vendor in the shade of huge oak trees.

Vendors lined up down the street.

A segment of The World's Longest Yard Sale on Lookout Mountain.

Seeking relief from the heat under the shade of a wide cedar tree.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did walk over to the farmer’s market where everything is organic, which is not that important to me.  The offerings included homemade jellies and jams, heirloom tomatoes, fuzzy peaches, butternut squash, and green beans.  Oh, and blueberries that were huge and sweet.

Rattlesnake Green Beans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perhaps next year I will put up my own tent?

12 thoughts on “I Didn’t Shop ‘til I Dropped

    • Oh, yes! Everything from vintage linens, rusty iron skillets, wood carvings and pyrex dishes to wicker furniture, shiny sterling silver, tools and sunglasses. One man had a tent set up and was selling anything even remotely related to old automobiles. It was a hoot to watch the people. It’s really too bad the weather didn’t co-operate. A lot of the tables were covered with tarps and some stuff was just ruined. Here’s the link: http://www.discoverlookoutmountain.com/yardsale.shtml . Sorry, having a hard time making the link work.

  1. Just so you know, the link worked fine for me!

    I’ve noticed these type of advertised events seem to bring out vendors who wildly inflate their prices to the “whatever-the-traffic-will-bear” range. I always leave those booths thinking they must really like their stuff! Finding booths with usual tag sale prices can be a big part of the treasure hunt. Your treasures just happened to be over at the farmers market! Yummy.

  2. Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad you did – now I’ve discovered yours 🙂
    Unfortunately, I don’t think there’s any way to sign up for email notifications for my new posts, but I’m hoping to do a bit of blog re-facing and change that up soon!
    Thanks again!

  3. I’ve heard of this sale. I think I saw it on tv once. Too bad about the rain, makes everything yucky. The farmers market sound ike the best deal.

    • Really! The market is set up two half-days a week. My daughter and I go at least once! What also makes it special is we’re close enough to walk. And thanks for stopping by. Getting ready to put up another post tonight.

Leave a Reply

