Permanent Change of Scenery

In the middle of June my family moved from one mountain top to the neighboring mountain top, only this one is several hundred feet higher and the temperature is cooler. This will be our first holiday here and so far it’s been an interesting one.  There is an art festival being held in the center of the village (it’s too small to be called a town) which is at the beginning of the street where we live now.

This is the street in front of the house where I now live.

I love it here;  it’s quiet and there is a LOT of wildlife around close.  How close?  How about red-tailed hawks and deer in your back yard?  Not at the same time, of course.  And ticks, and granddaddy long leg spiders are in abundance.  When my cat, Monkee, comes in from gallivanting around, she has to be checked for ticks unless you want to find one on yourself later.  At least I have reached a point where I don’t screech and yell, “Get it off of me!”

My across the street neighbor has a bluebird box in their front yard and this week I have been enjoying watching the parents fly in and out of the nest.  I remember when sighting the bluebird became a rare occurrence because they were being decimated by the effects of DDT.  So it is a special thing for me to see the beautiful Eastern Bluebird so close.

The is the same street about a block away in the opposite direction.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For about three weeks while in the middle of moving I did not pick up anything to knit!  Unbelievable that I could go that long without knitting.  Since I began knitting obsessively about five years ago, I do not believe that I have gone that long without picking up my knitting needles.  What is interesting are the differences found in knitting my current two projects.  A simple ribbed tee-shirt is knit in the Plymouth Yarn Bella Colour, an aran weight cotton and acrylic blend which makes my right thumb sore and painful.   However, while knitting the Lily Chin Chelsea, a 5-ply sport weight blend of merino wool, cotton and acrylic does not cause any pain and soreness.  As a result, I’ve put away the PY yarn and am working to finish the Charlotte v-neck raglan tee-shirt designed by Rosemary Drysdale.  I am working on both sleeves as the same time using circular needles.  This way, once I finish one sleeve I will also be finishing the second sleeve and the sweater will be ready to block and seam!

This is what I left - the street in front of the house where I used to live

One thought on “Permanent Change of Scenery

  1. The road where I live looks like your before picture, although not nearly so straight!! There is much more traffic, and its noise, then when we moved here over 20 years ago, but, thankfully, the wildlife has not been driven away by it. We have woods behind, on one side, and right across the road from us, so deer, fox, raccoons, wild turkeys and many other birds visit us. I hear there are black bears, but I’m not disappointed that I haven’t seen one in my yard! And ticks, well… they still make me shriek!! shudder

Leave a Reply

